Author Spotlight – Allison D. Reid

The Magical Muse Button


Synopsis:

Stories of fantasy ranging from dark, to light and inspiring, bring life to this anthology. The creatures featured throughout, both good and evil, display the devastating or wonderful personalities they were given by the authors who created them for your enjoyment.

 

Alexis Lantgen brings a twist to the story of a fairy changeling, showing a dark evil intent behind this mythological practice.

 

Andrea R. Cooper turns a dark fantasy tale into a lyrical piece that tests your understanding of your own mind.

 

George L. Duncan features a creature many never saw coming as the source of justice in a corrupt world.

 

Dark fantasy takes a humorous twist with Oz Durose, who introduces us to a new type of zombie that makes you regret deleting the files off your very own computer…readers beware!

 

Mythological hounds are a foreshadowing of doom for one man seeking refuge from their deadly chase. Allison D. Reid brings a tale of adventure as seen through the eyes of the hounds and their mysterious master, born from the darkness of hell.

 

Demons lurking throughout this tale bring a monster into the world. A demi-god finds out her fate as KJ Hawkins spins a tale of triumph and fear.

 

Matthew Frassetti presses the will of a man trying to save his lover from the hands of a demon. The bonds of friendship between man and beast are tested as this tale of adventure takes a twist.

 

Brendan Carroll brings a brilliantly fun, entertaining story to life, showing how in the midst of everyday beauty, time simply passes when you least expect it.

 

Khushi Agarwal tests the power of Christmas cheer with elves on strike. Will Christmas come on time, or will it be ruined for all?

 

The holidays are here as D.B. Mauldin brings a hard working elf into the spotlight for a special Christmas festival.

_______________________________________

Buy Links ebooks: (Paperbacks: unavailable at this time)

Allison_RekerBio:

Allison D. Reid’s passion for medieval history and fantasy was sparked by writers like C.S. Lewis and J.R.R Tolkien. She also spent years living in Europe, captivated by its ancient towns, cathedrals, and castles. She received her B.A. in writing from Hampshire College.

 

Current Published Works:

Journey to Aviad Published Nov. 11, 2011

Look up link for sight ^

Contact Info:

http://www.weavingword.com/


Welcome!

 

Please introduce yourself.

 

  1. When did you start writing?

I started writing at a very young age. As early as Kindergarten I was folding together little picture books for my grandmother with simple illustrated verse. I got more serious about writing later in grade school, thanks to some inspiring teachers who encouraged me to push my creative boundaries with weekly prompts. In High School I wrote mostly poetry. In college I tried my first novel and loved doing it so much that I completely changed my major. Now I write primarily novels and short stories.

 

  1. What motivates you to write?

Writing comes naturally—it is just what I do and who I am. I am intrigued by history and mythology, which tend to influence my fiction.

 

  1. What genre do you write in and what made you chose this particular genre?

For the time being I am writing only medieval-era fantasy, which I fell in love with at a very young age. The Narnia Chronicles captivated my heart and imagination, and I went on from there to discover other wonderful fantasy books. Fantasy has retained its magic for me, allowing endless creative possibilities. I respect the ingenuity and discipline it takes to bring whole worlds into existence. However, I also love history, and someday I would like to try writing historical fiction as well.

 

  1. What is your goal in writing? Do you have dreams where your writing should take you?

What I want most is to write a timeless, high quality series of books that reaches readers in an entertaining yet meaningful way. I don’t have any delusions of fame or even of making a living off of my writing. My honest dream is to have an impact, even if only on a small circle of fans, and for my series to be one they are drawn to read over again. If I do my job right, they will notice new things the second and third time around, and the story will continue to grow with the reader.

 

  1. Do you ever suffer from writer’s block and if yes, how do you deal with it?

Yes, though usually when I’m stuck it isn’t that I don’t know what to say—I always outline the whole book before I even start the first chapter. But there are times when I’m just not emotionally, mentally, or even spiritually ready to write the section I’m supposed to be working on. I’ve learned to just wait it out and keep things going in the back of my mind. When I’m finally ready, the words will start flowing again, and I’m never disappointed. Some people say that you should just force yourself forward, and write even if you are uninspired. That doesn’t work for me at all. Patience and thoughtfulness usually serve me better, and result in a higher quality of writing even if it takes longer. While I’m waiting for my “writer’s block” to resolve itself, I work on other things, like research, editing, character sketches, and outlines.

 

 

  1. What advice would you like to give new, hopeful authors?

Write from your heart, love what you write, and do everything you can to keep improving on your skills. As long as you are able to do those three things, you won’t be deterred by those who don’t like your work, nor will you be afraid to take the constructive criticism needed to make you a better writer.

 

  1. Please, tell us about your work.

 

When young Elowyn finds a mysterious looking coin in her favorite woodland stream, the simple life she knows is forever changed. The discovery sets a series of events in motion that take Elowyn and her older sister, Morganne, on a remarkable physical and spiritual journey. Dark clouds and unnatural storms begin to threaten their home city of Tyroc with growing frequency and ferocity. Creatures that were once believed to be nothing more than historic legend suddenly emerge from the depths of the wilderness. Even the once trusted leadership of Tyroc seems to have been swayed by the encroaching forces of darkness. As Elowyn and Morganne struggle to make their way through a world thrown into turmoil, their untested faith is suddenly challenged. They begin to realize that it is not always easy to discern between truth and falsehood, nor is the path laid out for them by Aviad, the Creator, free from perils. Despite their fears, they choose to follow Aviad, who takes them not only on a journey away from Tyroc, but away from their old selves, as they grow in strength and maturity of faith.

 

Morganne and Elowyn’s journey continues in the second book of the series, which will be published later this year.

 

Thank you for being my guest. It was such a pleasure to have you here!! 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

 

3 thoughts on “Author Spotlight – Allison D. Reid

Leave a Reply

