Modernizing Brother Grimm’s Fairy Tales

Today I’ve been cleaning and found an old book with Grimm’s fairy tales, a memory of my childhood. I opened it and read a bit, trying to remember each fairy tale.

 

Later while continuing to clean up I was trying to figure out whether these fairy tales still would work with today’s children. And I concluded with a clear “no”.

Why not?

Well, because of today’s children and their attitude, technical progress, beauty makeovers etc.

 

  

Let me explain: 

Hansel and Gretel find themselves in the middle of a forest with no cell phones and GPS and are stumbling around. Do you actually believe they’d get trapped in a gingerbread house? I personally would expect they’d rather be tempted by a drive-in with burgers and fries.

 

Or Red Riding Hood? Helloooo!! Mom asks: “Please, daughter, go and bring your sick grandma that cake and wine.” The girl would answer: “No way, Mom. I’ve got a Facebook Party this afternoon.”

The poor wolf is very likely to wait forever…

Nowadays Teenagers don’t move their butt anymore to visit their grandmother (unless to get money for their latest iTunes-order… but that’s another story…)

 

How about Rapunzel? The prince climbing up to her would fall down and break his neck. Why? She’s got extensions…

 

The Sleeping Beauty? She’s sleeping for years! I doubt a prince would take the effort and fight through everything protecting her just for a kiss? I don’t think so. Not after he’s got dating sites to get his dream girl. I guess it’s more likely the IRS is kissing her awake to ask why she stopped paying taxes!

 

I really like the idea of modernizing Grimm’s fairy tales somehow. Any ideas? Let me hear them, please.

 

7 thoughts on “Modernizing Brother Grimm’s Fairy Tales

  1. I agree with you completely A.J.
    I have a bunch of grandkids myself and thank God I do not have to rely on them for anything. The only time I hear from any of them or see any of them is when their parents find an hour or so to drop by. The teens don’t even call if I’m ill, much less bring me cookies etc. They don’t call or send a thank you note or text whenever I send them a gift, so, I stopped doing that too. Kids are not being taught anything about respecting their grandparents or parents nor showing any kind of interest in visiting or calling. Heck, they don’t even want to know anything about the life their elders lived.
    if a grandparent doesn’t own a computer or cell phone, the kids have no interest in them either.
    Today, if Hansel and Gretel became lost in the woods, they would worry more about how they would charge their phones or tablets than how to find their way out. So forget about poor old grandma, the wolf will have his dinner.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Pat.
      I’m sure there in fact are children that care for their grandparents, but for the past 15 years I haven’t met any.
      I heard children talking about their grandparents, not even a couple weeks ago. And believe me, what they said wasn’t nice at all…
      As for me: I’m less concerned about the wolf than grandma not having her bottle of wine. 😉

      Like

  2. I have a book at my parent’s house that was full of weird takes on old tales. One was called “Ashella,” a flip of Cinderella where the prince is evil and Ashella is secretly a witch. Everything leading up to the ball and glass slippers is all a ruse to curse the prince, the king, and the entire kingdom at midnight. It was a little dark…and oddly satisfying.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thinking a little harder about it, Tanith Lee was the author. The story is actually called “When the Clock Strikes.” I read it as part of another anthology but it’s also part of her own called “Red as Blood or Tales from the Sisters Grimmer.” You can get it on Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Fairy Tales reloaded – PG16 | Writer's Treasure Chest

Leave a Reply

