Author Spotlight – Taren Reese Ocoda

Taren_Reese_Ocoda_Bio_Pic (1)Taren Reese Ocoda lives in Australia with her husband and daughter. She is the author of Out of Oblivion, her first and newest novel. She enjoys writing sci-fi and erotic romance stories, and loves to read everything from fantasy to sci-fi romance.

 

 

 

Welcome! 

 

  1. When did you start writing?

 

I started writing in the late 90’s seriously, but it was a stop and start thing for many years as I built up my confidence. I also had a mishap where I lost an entire novel when my hard drive crashed, which made me give up on writing for a few years. I started writing again more seriously about a year and a half ago and finally started publishing my work.

 

  1. What motivates you to write?

 

I really don’t need a lot of motivation to write. I just love to do it. When I’m not writing, I start getting depressed and my anxiety kicks in. Writing helps me feel normal. I guess in a way that’s a motivation, but it’s something I love to do anyway.

 

  1. What genre do you write in and what made you chose this particular genre?

 

Under my real name I write fantasy, but under this pen name I will mainly be writing sci-fi romance. I chose this genre when I started reading it and actually enjoyed it. I’m not big on reading romances, but I really enjoy sci-fi romances. So I wanted to give writing them a try. Out of Oblivion is more of an erotic romance, but it’s a story that’s been stuck in my head for a while.  I likely won’t be writing a lot of those, though.

 

  1. What is your goal in writing? Do you have dreams where your writing should take you?

 

Really, I don’t have any lofty goals. I just want to be successful enough to support my family financially and have enough where we can just go visit different places once in a while. I’d also love to be able to visit my family in the US regularly.

 

  1. Do you ever suffer from writer’s block and if yes, how do you deal with it?

 

Not really. If I start writing too much, my brain gets a little fried, and I know I need a break. But once I take a day or two off from writing, I can get back into it quite easily. There are also times my head gets a little foggy because I have Hashimoto’s Disease and that’s one of the symptoms. That makes it hard to write, but I wouldn’t call it writer’s block.

 

  1. What advice would you like to give new, hopeful authors?

 

First of all, write what you love and read what you love to write. The more you read really good books in your genre, the better you will get at writing. If you plan to self-publish, don’t try to do it all yourself. You’ll need help especially with your book cover (unless you’re an artist or graphic designer), and editor (even if you’re awesome at editing, you’ll need help… it’s not as easy to spot errors is your own work as it is with others), and promotion. Even if it just means joining writing groups to start because you don’t have money to pay someone, or meeting people through hosting blog tours or blogging in general. There are people out there willing to help you, as long as you’re willing to help them too.

 

  1. Please, tell us about your work.

 

Out of Oblivion, as I said, was something that has been in my head for a while. I used to be involved in the BDSM community online and in real life as well. The story originated as a way to point out the dangers for a submissive to trust any dominant that comes along. Then I had my own bad experience and the story evolved from that. The story itself and the characters are completely fictional though. I only included minor elements of my own experiences. So it’s not a story about what happened to me.

 

Thank you for being my guest. It was such a pleasure to have you here!! 

 

__________________________________________________________________

Long Bio:

 

Taren Reese Ocoda is actually a pen name I’ve decided to use for writing my sci-fi and erotic romance stories. I write fantasy under my real name and decided that I wanted to keep the two genres separate. I live in Australia with my husband and daughter. I’m originally from America, but I moved out here a bit over ten years ago to be with my (now) husband. We met online and I came out here just for a visit so we could meet in person, and I’ve been here ever since. Ten years later we are still happily married, so we’re living proof that it can work! 😀 We have two cats, named Padme and Anakin—you couldn’t tell from that, that I’m a Star Wars fan—and two guinea pigs, named Sith and Prince. I love to read fantasy mostly, but I’ve been reading more romance lately as a result of meeting some really good indie romance authors who turned me onto it. I’m very picky about what I read though. Anything I read has to have a great story with characters that feel real to me. Those are the stories that really draw me in. They’re also the kinds of stories I try (and hopefully succeed at) writing. I had some ideas for romance stories in mind, but for a long time I didn’t think I had the skills to write one. I didn’t want to do what everyone else was doing either. Now with the sci-fi romance genre out there, it’s intrigued me enough to give it a try. So I really hope you enjoy!


Author Pages:

 

Website/Blog: http://www.tarenreeseocoda.com/

Amazon Author Page: http://amazon.com/author/tarenocoda

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/bbWzrn

 

Social Media:

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TarenOcoda

Google +: https://plus.google.com/+TarenOcoda/posts


OOBAmazon link for “Out of Oblivion”

4 thoughts on “Author Spotlight – Taren Reese Ocoda

Leave a Reply

