Ethel

My birth name is „Ethel“. This is, as I was told, an old English girl’s name, some independent form of “Ethelred.” That would be fine with me if I weren’t male! I figure my name was sort of an expression of Lucifer’s askew humor. At least he most of the time convulses with laughter when calling me.

As compared to what humans think demons are not only made, they’re born as well. I am, in fact, the living prove that I’m telling the truth.

My father and mother, Braxxus and Persophee, some “mediocre” distractors (demons who confuse human senses to tempt them doing evil) met during some hellish fire party and fell in love. That’s what they told me, even though I strongly suspect they were more physically attracted to each other than anything else. From that moment on, they copulated as often as they could. From what Persophee said, I am their “love bundle.” I’d rather say, the result of this more than equivocal mating became me.

Unfortunately, these two demons had a bet going with Lucifer and lost. As consequence, I was compelled to serve as the footman of a minion, of the minion of the minion of Lucifer’s master demon. Since Lucifer found me and the bet so hilarious, he often used me as his personal doormat and had tons of fun with that.

He thought it fascinating that I looked more human than anyone else in Hell. Both of my producers had scales and horns and except the somehow unexpected wiry hair that was standing up on my head and nearly looked like goat horns I had nothing demonic on me. When I was sent to Earth the first time, I could do so without the need of being changed. People shied away from me eventually because I seemed to smell weird, but after a few hours of bathing and a couple proper clothes I almost felt human and was accepted as one. That first time I discovered the beauty in this new world. I saw flowers, trees, green grass and ponds, parks, zoos and watched birds, cats and dogs…

To me, it was almost painful to sow evil amongst mankind. I hesitated to do what I was sent to do and this annoyed the Master of all Evil. He ordered me back and punished me painfully.

That day I decided I had enough. I know, my kind normally enjoys wallowing in anger, rage, crime, pain, depression and murder. But I was sick of it. I felt like drowning in greed, bullying, sins, and blood. I did not want that anymore and decided to get out. Of course, it isn’t exactly easy to change sides. But the thought of existing within evilness was unthinkable to me.

Finally, Lucifer helped me unintentionally by promoting me to become a distractor. He turned me into an extraordinarily handsome man to make it easier for me to tempt humans by being attractive to them. Additionally, to complete my physiognomy he re-named me “Jesse”, the “Gift-giver”. He nearly wet himself of laughter, explaining, that I indeed brought gifts to mankind: the gift of sin.

In my opinion, he got me closer to what I wanted. Of course, I need to be careful now. Guardian Angels don’t know mercy! But since I am here, on Earth, it is time to take action to free me…

 

**************************************************************************************************

What do you think: Would you like to help me finding out if “Ethel” is fascinating enough to become a new character in my next novella?

 

5 thoughts on “Ethel

  1. Pingback: Fashion For Characters III | Writer's Treasure Chest

Leave a Reply

