Pingbacks and Twitter Mentions, Are You Up to Snuff?

I think this is an excellent and informative blog post for many bloggers, in particularly of course for the newbies like me. Thank you Carrie Rubin.

Carrie Rubin

Like a toddler teaching astrophysics, I’m probably the last person to give tech advice.

But I won’t let that stop me.

For any bloggers not yet savvy about pingbacks and Twitter mentions, here are two tips I’d like to share that will make things easier for your followers:

My mom's cat, Diva. She loves...er...tolerates me. My mom’s cat. She loves…er…tolerates me.

1. Pingbacks

It’s an honor to be mentioned in someone else’s blog post, and it’s a great way to build blogging connections. But unless our blog gets a notification, we won’t be aware we were mentioned unless we stumble upon the post. And since most of us can’t read every post of every blogger we follow, we risk not seeing the mention at all.

The good news is, we can help our fellow bloggers by activating a pingback whenever we mention them in our posts. Pingbacks are an automated way to alert other bloggers we have…

View original post 455 more words

3 thoughts on “Pingbacks and Twitter Mentions, Are You Up to Snuff?

Leave a Reply

