Author Spotlight – C. P. Murphy

image1Welcome!

Please introduce yourself.

1. When did you start writing?
I started writing when I was a young girl in school. All through school, I would write poetry and children stories. The poetry has either been thrown out or is hiding somewhere, I’m not good at that and I know it. The children stories are sitting on a shelf in my closet. After my first child, I had a couple of poems published but I still consider my poetry bad so I didn’t focus on that. Instead, I was inspired one day to write my first book, Love Everlasting. It was published by a not so reputable publishing company. I had no idea to steer away from them, but it was a valuable lesson because I was able to connect with other writers and I learned a lot about the publishing world.

2. What motivates you to write?
A better future for my children! I also write because I hear characters talking to me and begging to put their lives on paper but honestly, my motivation is making a career out of my words so that someday I can give my kids the world. I’m also motivated by the memory of my father, he always told me stories and I knew that I was meant to continue the tradition.

3. What genre do you write in and what made you chose this particular genre?
My newest book, and my first are paranormal romance, but I also love to write historical fiction. The paranormal romances pick me, the stories just pop in my head and I have no control over them. I think I’m different in the paranormal world though because most of them are about vampires, werewolves, etc.. But, ‘paranormal’ means anything out of the ordinary and that’s where my ‘ghosts’ come in. I have another one that I’m writing and that’s time travel, but not in the sci-fi way. As for historical fictions, I chose to write that because I love it so much. It’s too bad I didn’t pay more attention to history in school- I would have it was all taught through movies and fiction. I think I’m an old soul and when I’m writing historical fiction, I feel like I’m there. My second book, Amelia’s Story is a historical fiction that is inspired by actual events.

4. What is your goal in writing? Do you have dreams where your writing should take you?
Right now my goal is to finish the book I’m currently writing (first draft at least) by mid-August. Over all, my goals are like my motivation- to provide for my kids in the future. Believe it or not, it’s not my dream to become a household name and extremely famous. (If it happens, hey it happens and I won’t complain) My dream is just to sell books and make enough money to live comfortably.

5. Do you ever suffer from writer’s block and if yes, how do you deal with it?
Very often! I try to remain productive even if I can’t write. When it hits me, I tend to start reading other author’s books and write up reviews for them. If I’m not reading for others, I’ll read marketing books and do some research. I do get very cranky when I can’t write sometimes. Maybe I’m too hard on myself.

6. What advice would you like to give new, hopeful authors?
To never give up and also not to worry about all the writing hype that’s out there. It doesn’t matter what your word count is; trying to make a story stretch to 100k words isn’t always the best answer. I think it’s better to just tell the story that you want to tell and don’t worry about the length. There are always revisions which can add to the story, and it could end up being just a novella. (Those sell well via ebooks) Also, don’t worry about how it’s going to be published. Traditional publishing isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be and independent publishing isn’t as bad as you think. Biggest advice is to keep writing, no matter what.

7. Please, tell us about your work.
My latest novella (Release July 5th, 2016) is a Paranormal Romance Novella. It’s about a girl, Sophia, who moves into a house that once was a church. She thinks she’s safe because it used to be a house of God but what she doesn’t know is that 15 years earlier, there was a murder/suicide inside. Her life isn’t much different from the murdered girl’s and little by little, the house is driving her insane. She meets Frankie, who was the fiancé of the murdered girl, but he never tells her why he won’t set foot inside of her home. He doesn’t believe that its haunted but finds out for himself. It’s a story about obsessive relationships and the possible outcome from them. St. Matthew’s House is available on Amazon.com, kindle edition for now and is free in Kindle Unlimited. I plan on releasing the paperback by Christmas time.
In 2007 I published “The Cold Case of Millersport: Amelia’s Story.” I was going through a hard time in my personal life and realized that I didn’t end it the way I wanted to. The book was unpublished and taken off the market. I fixed it up and rereleased it in 2013. Available wherever books are sold. Currently I am in the process of releasing an audio version of this book, which is taking longer than expected but hopefully well worth it when it’s out. Set in 1813, Amelia Samuels is being forced to marry Thomas Van Martin, son of the wealthiest man in the village. She can’t stand Thomas and is the only one who can see right through him. Amelia’ begs her father to allow her to marry for love, but what she doesn’t know is that he’s being blackmailed by the Van Martins. She does meet the stranger in town, Patrick, and they fall in love. This makes her life very difficult and puts her in grave danger. This story is about a community that copes with a tragedy and a family in grief. “Amelia’s Story,” could be considered a family saga as it effects all the characters and changes their lives forever.

And my first novella, Love Everlasting, is about a man and wife separated by death after only one year of marriage. Lauren is told, in Heaven, that if her husband, Mark, remarries or is intimate with another at any point in his life- they won’t be together forever in Heaven. She learns that memories of Earth fade and that if he goes on with his life, she’ll still be happy. But, she doesn’t want that. There is nothing she can do when he starts dating, Jody, but hope for the best. Can their love withstand Heaven and Earth?

Thank you for being my guest. It was such a pleasure to have you here!!
Thank you for the opportunity. I look forward to reading your work as well!


Connect with C. P. Murphy:

Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/cpmurphy73

Twitter:
http://www.twitter.com/cpmurphy73

LinkedIN:
http://www.linkedin.com/in/cpmurphy73

Website:
http://www.cpmurphy.com

Amazon Page:

http://www.amazon.com/C-P-Murphy/e/B00EWO9BTG


C. P. Murphy’s books:
cpmurphy_St_Matthews_HouseSt. Matthew’s House

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LoveEverlastingCoverLove Everlasting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

coverforsmashwordsAmeliaAmelia’s Story

5 thoughts on “Author Spotlight – C. P. Murphy

Leave a Reply

