Author Spotlight – Jack Brutus Penny

IMG_2668Welcome!

When did you start writing?

I started as an illustrator primarily and grew into writing. I moved from free-lance graphic design to illustrating my own work in 2012, though I’ve been both drawing and writing since I can remember, having won artwork, essay writing, and poetry competitions as a child. I may be most proud of my Blue Peter appearance and badge I received for an essay, though perhaps only the British readers will appreciate its significance.

 

 

What motivates you to write?

Everything and anything out of the ordinary. That which makes me pause in wonder, or strikes me by how wonderful it would be, were it so. I particularly like scenes of times and places somehow connected to us but distant enough to fade into antiquity.

 

What genre do you write in and what made you chose this particular genre?

I write in nonsense and linguistics. As a dyslexic English lecturer living in Japan I have developed a deep understanding of a language that baffles me. Japanese is hard too. But English in its flexibility serves me possibly more than any other language could, as a tool to be molded until it’s broken and shaped until it’s bent completely out. I prefer to allow the language to help my stories take shape, as long as it isn’t a pear’s.

 

What is your goal in writing? Do you have dreams where your writing should take you?

My goal is to create world’s in which people enjoy the playground of the English language, its etymologies, its idiomatic expressiveness, to both amuse and cultivate the brighter mind.

 

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block and if yes, how do you deal with it?

I do. But I work on a variety of projects at a time, and within each project I work on the text, the illustrations, the formatting, and so on, so if ever something seems wholly unwilling, I change my focus until I can catch it off-guard. Some of my best ideas come from when I shrewdly caught them unalert.

 

What advice would you like to give new, hopeful authors?

Everybody has his or her own approach to creativity. Some profess to reading, but I say be selective. If there is a story you want to write, find someone who you think would most competently tell it, and study him or her carefully. My companions range from Lewis Carroll to Bruegel. It’s strange how we find our voice from listening to others’.

 

Please, tell us about your work.

I’m working currently on a few projects: a collection of sixteen short stories called In Truth Stories, a collection of parables and fables called The Allegaurus, and now marketing a recently released book of 200 riddles, ‘some rather difficult, and others unreasonably so’, From the Riddle Me Collection Volume One: A Stone’s Throw.

 

Thank you for being my guest. It was such a pleasure to have you here!!

 


 

Connect with Jack Brutus Penny:

Website: www.jackbrutuspenny.com

where you can find Jack’s blog for example. Discover it!

 


Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00013]Jack’s Book:

Website shop page for the book

The book on Amazon.com

The book on Amazon.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

4 thoughts on “Author Spotlight – Jack Brutus Penny

    • Right! I often find myself having far less to say while I say it, and far more to say when listening carefully. Perhaps that is intuitive, yet so many people who ‘speak’ don’t seem to appreciate it. And then comes the issue of deciding what idea we want to express.

      Sometimes I lose my voice, and I have to go back to go back to others to find it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

