Editing Tip #132 – The Dreaded Synopsis

The book blurb already scared me. I felt like standing in front of a wooden 200-year-old bridge over some exotic canyon, deep deep down…
Now I’m standing in front of the Himalaya… the synopsis. Thank God there are experienced writers being able to help us. Here a blog post, written by M. J. Moores, which might help, not only me, but many of us! Thank you for this great post!

6 Sentence Synopsis

 

 

 

While it’s nice to think that once you’ve written and edited your magnus-opus, your editing work is done … think again.

Time to Write Your Synopsis

If an agent or publisher doesn’t get a “taste” for your writing in the query letter (which calls for a paragraph summary of your entire book and often a 1-pager to attach) or “hooked” on your story, then you’ve lost a great opportunity to have them ask for your coveted manuscript.

Now, I must be upfront with you about this: I am NOT a master of editing Synopses.

In fact, I still struggle with writing my own but I have a good perspective for books I’ve edited for my clients. I can see when they’re adding too much back story, if their hook actually grabs readers, and if they’ve left out anything important (because they don’t want to spoil the story – trust…

View original post 93 more words

2 thoughts on “Editing Tip #132 – The Dreaded Synopsis

Leave a Reply

