Fashion For Characters II

In my blog post ‘Fashion For Characters I’ I showed the difference between certain book covers of ‘Historical Romance’ books and the ‘reality.’

This time I decided to talk about how to dress ‘Science Fiction’ characters.

I have to admit; I can only talk about what I would dress them into, rather than what I do make them wear because Science Fiction is not my genre. Science Fiction is probably the perfect genre to read for technics and computer lovers, Star Trek, Star Wars and Star-whatever’ fans, which I’m deeply ashamed to admit I’m not.

But let’s see if I still can endeavor to find something decent to wear for these characters. At this moment I depend on what I remember. When I was little my Dad loved to watch the old Star Trek show, and I find their ladies fashion irresistible and I cannot and will not deprive you of seeing what people back then considered decent fashion for female Science Fiction characters:

Picture courtesy of: http://bit.ly/2ovFAQt

****************************************

Nowadays I figure our imagination of a Science Fiction Princess on a formal event might more be dressed in something like this:

Picture courtesy of http://www.pinterest.com

Picture courtesy of: http://bit.ly/2oyXMI9

.

Or if there is a technical computer war in some space ship, we could dress her in this?

Picture courtesy of: http://www.pinterest.com

Or do we like it a little sexier? Maybe this would be more (in)appropriate for our story?

Picture courtesy of: http://www.pinterest.com

****************************************

Right here, I preferred dressing ladies in my imagination of Science Fiction characters. I would be very curious what kind of ideas you would come up with. I’m a woman “dressing” women. But what would a male writer do in such a case? Aren’t mainly men writing Science Fiction after all, or am I very wrong with this guess?

Let me hear what you think.

4 thoughts on “Fashion For Characters II

  1. Interesting blog Aurora. I always image sci-fi ladies in glittering silver, skin tight clothing for ease of movement, more utilitarian rather than ‘high-fashion’. Of course, I could be wrong. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Fashion For Characters III | Writer's Treasure Chest

  3. Pingback: Fashion For Characters IV | Writer's Treasure Chest

Leave a Reply

