Author Spotlight – Kimberly Forrest

Kimberly Forrest is a PRG member

*************************************************************************************************************

Welcome! 

Please introduce yourself. 

My name is Kimberly Forrest and I am an independently published author of paranormal romance.

 

  1. When did you start writing?

I started writing in my early teens; mostly short stories that I would occasionally share with my best friends.  Later, I started writing fan-fiction for shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Charmed.  I wrote my first full length novel with intention to publish in 2002.  It was a historical romance that I sent out to every publishing house I could find that accepted the genre and received a stack of rejection letters in return. My work wasn’t “competitive enough” or “not the right fit”… So I set it aside and moved on with my life.  When self-publishing became a thing, I decided to go ahead and try it.  I published the novel, but because of my busy schedule, I really didn’t have the time, or frankly, the knowledge to properly promote or market the book, so it just sat there.  Which brings us to 2016… I had a great idea for a book and my muse wouldn’t leave me alone.  I was determined to write it, publish it, and this time, DO something to promote it.  I just released the third book in the series and while my sales numbers aren’t huge, I’m not going to give up.  I try different things, I learn a little more, I keep writing.

 

  1. What motivates you to write?

My muse is a nag… seriously, she won’t let me sleep.  I have to write. 

 

  1. What genre do you write in and what made you chose this particular genre?

Currently I write paranormal romance.  I have always been fascinated with the genre – books, movies, television shows.  I like a dependable hero, a strong (yet still sweet) heroine, and a happily ever after within the shadows of a secret world. 

 

  1. What is your goal in writing? Do you have dreams where your writing should take you?

My current goal is for my writing to find its target audience.  I want my books in the hands of people who will love reading my work as much as I love writing it.

As for my dream… Well, Best Seller List, of course 🙂 

 

  1. Do you ever suffer from writer’s block and if yes, how do you deal with it?

After I wrote my historical romance and received so many rejections… well, that kind of killed my creative energy.  I dwelled on it – I was fixating.  I needed to step away.  I stepped away for way too long.  Currently, if I get blocked, I still step away, but with a plan – I take a weekend off to read a good book (or two), watch movies on Netflix, clear my head and then I plant myself back in front of my computer come Monday morning even if it’s just to read through what I’ve already written and make changes. 

 

  1. What advice would you like to give new, hopeful authors?

My advice would be to keep writing.  When you’re not writing, be thinking about what you might write the next day.  Pay attention to constructive criticism only.  Do Not Listen to negative feedback.  Never change your voice to please that one person.  Be happy with what you are doing and do it for that reason only – it’s the only reason that matters. 

 

  1. Please, tell us about your work.

I just released the third book in the Malsum Pass series, entitled For Her, on Amazon.  Each book within the series is a standalone paranormal romance but I feel they are best enjoyed if they are read in order.  The series revolves around a shifter town hidden away in the mountains of Vermont… A wolf pack in desperate need of females, a cranky bear shifter that wants to be left alone, and a couple of runaway felines looking for a fresh start.  I love these books.  I love these characters.  I have so many plans for them and I know this series will continue. 

 

Thank you for being my guest. It was such a pleasure to have you here!!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Connect with Kimberly:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KimberlyForrestAuthor/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

__________________________________________________________________________________________________
.
Kimberly’s books:
.
.

Malsum Pass http://a.co/bQxfw9L    Until You http://a.co/1ktFlqK             For Her  http://a.co/2UBYwiu

7 thoughts on “Author Spotlight – Kimberly Forrest

  1. Nice interview!! I love paranormal myself, both as a reader and writer. how wonderful that you wrote fan fiction for Buffy–yet unbelievable could not get a publisher based on that alone. Wishing you great luck in your future work–you already have the talent but these days it is luck finding a decent publisher.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Blog Round Up: May 2017 – Rachel Poli

Leave a Reply

