Fashion For Characters IV

This is the fourth blog post I wrote about Fashion for Characters. The first post I talked about Fashion for Historical Romance, the second about Science Fiction characters and their fashion. The last one was about “my own” genre, fashion for characters in Paranormal Romance.

Today it’s time for fashion in the ‘Fantasy’ genre.

Depending on the characters we’re going to dress, ‘fantasy’ means, we authors are quite free in how to dress our characters.

I impossibly can dress every fantasy character existing in our heads. That’s why I picked just a few.

Let’s start with fairies. What is a fairy to most of us? I would say, a little, thumb sized winged cute nature spirit, able to project herself in human size, if necessary. We can dress her into so many different dresses. I would say: most typical ones would be these:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These, of course, are only examples. Our fantasy is unlimited, and so is our taste. Many other writers might have completely different imaginations of how to dress their fairies.

 

********************************

.

Let’s see what we can do about getting our naked elves ready for the public. 😀

What are elves? In my imagination, they’re the taller magic version of fairies, without the wings. (I might, however, be slightly influenced by Mr. Tolkien, but this is not necessarily a bad thing though).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

**********************************

 

The next supernatural creature I would like to dress are witches – or magicians. I’m not talking about the fairy tale witch with the pointed hat and the broom. In my head these are more women, using nature and symbols to perform magic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

*********************************************

 

Of course, there are many more female fantasy characters. I decided on warriors and hunters to be dressed next. In my imagination they’re mysterious, fascinating and at the same time impressive:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

************************************

And last, but not least, there are the princesses, queens, and regents. Of course, we are convinced they’re wearing beautiful dresses. In my head, these might be beautiful dresses for them:

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

**************************************

 

Let me know what you think how your fantasy women should be dressed, please. I’d love to read your imagination in my comments.

 

I hope you had as much fun reading these fashion posts as I had writing them.

***********************************************************************************

(All pictures are courtesy of http://www.pinterest.com)

9 thoughts on “Fashion For Characters IV

  1. How wonderful to let your imagination soar; go on a rampage…I’d HAVE to dress elves in green…but with princesses and queens, the sky’s the limit. As a nipper, I was a fairy in a play and was dressed in gold satin and lame. Thought I was the bees knees. Enjoy your fantasies, Aurora. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Fashion For Characters IV | Linda Bradley

Leave a Reply

