How To Plan The Crime In Your Mystery Novel [Mystery Month]

Rachel Poli provides us with an interesting and informative post on “How to plan a crime”, including a ‘checklist’. This is great! Thank you, Rachel!

Rachel Poli

We’ve talked about this before, but I think it’s always good to revisit old chats. In fact, this is the third time I’m revising this post!

If you know me, you know that I prefer to outline my novels before writing them. While freewriting is fun, I like to know where I’m going with my story. I don’t like to get stuck, I just like to write. Sometimes it changes, but I have a basic idea.

When it comes to writing a mystery novel, when there is a crime and something has to be solved, it’s easy to know what exactly is going to happen ahead of time. Otherwise, you may end up with a baffling case – in and out of the story.

How To Plan A Crime In Your Mystery Novel | Mystery Month

Even if you don’t like to outline, planning out the crime in your story is always a good idea. When you read books or watch…

View original post 598 more words

2 thoughts on “How To Plan The Crime In Your Mystery Novel [Mystery Month]

  1. Just finished THE LAST JUROR, Grisham. Well woven crime tale. A suggestion I would add to your list is ALWAYS get your facts right. One of the characters in the story runs to Canada during Vietnam Era because he had a high draft number. The way it was is that each day of the year was drawn in lottery to be given a draft number 1-365. No Mr. Grisham. If you got a high draft number you had almost no chance of being drafted. It was the LOW draft number that kept’s us in fear. I remember. My birth date June 18 was well into the 300’s. Whew. I got to finish college and became a teacher for 33 years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

