Let’s Get Real—Authenticity in Fiction – written by Kristen Lamb

Kristen Lamb published a fantastic blog post about authenticity in fiction, about our protagonists and how not to do it. Thank you very much for this informative and interesting article!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Years ago when I got the idea to write a novel, I did what a lot of new writers do and created the uber perfect protagonist. In fact, when I came up with the original plot idea for The Devil’s Dance, I cast a Sarah Conner badass…and she was dull as dirt and utterly unlikable.

Yay me.

Bizarrely, when those critiquing didn’t like my protagonist, I made her more perfect thinking that would fix it. Um, no. Made it worse. They went from disliking her to kinda wanting to stab her in the face.
Why did I do this? Why did I default to super perfect?

Fear.

Fear of being authentic. I had no concept of what it was like to be perfect. My family resembled Season Two of the Jerry Springer Show. After my parents divorced, my dad disappeared for years only to resurface and take a job as a cashier at Stop-N-Go so he could get out of paying the originally allotted child support. I was never #1 at anything (unless one counts truancy). Terrible…

 

To continue reading the entire post go to:

http://authorkristenlamb.com/2017/06/lets-get-real-authenticity-in-fiction/#respond

Leave a Reply

