…age is not just a number… it’s sum’thing that’s earned…

Unbelievable, how my friend, Seumas Gallacher deals with age. Age… the monster that hides in a dark corner to one day unexpectedly jump on us. – Oh yes… it hits ALL of us. Not one person on Earth will be spared. And if that day comes for me, I can only hope I’ll take it with the same humor as this man!

Seumas Gallacher

…this ol’ Scots Jurassic scribbler considers himself immeasurably fortunate to have in a global SOSYAL NETWURK countless wonderful friends who p’raps are showing just a tad wear and tear…

…infancy, teens and a few decades thereafter have elapsed in my own existence on this planet… the early ambitions, hopes and travails of a lifetime and career are valued mem’ries… pensionable age arrived a wee while back… but here’s the strange thing… I rarely feel ‘old’… physically of course, the litheness and athleticism these bones and muscles once possessed as a young professional footballer, have faded a touch… ‘ambling’ has replaced ‘sprinting’ as the preferred mode of forward bodily movement… a once-medal-winning tenor voice struggles to reach any kind of upper musical vocal register (although, thankfully, the ability to hold a key remains intact, Mabel)… so, am I about ready to be carted off to the Old Writers Graveyard yet?……

View original post 189 more words

12 thoughts on “…age is not just a number… it’s sum’thing that’s earned…

  1. I’m a top fan of anything that Seumas writes, mainly because he constantly uses humour. Although he does write punchy, dramatic stuff rather well too. As I’m even older than him/he? I know all about reassembling myself in the mornings, and admit he sings better than I ever did. I might challenge him to tap the Time Step though… Thanks Aurora. .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: …age is not just a number… it’s sum’thing that’s earned… | Matthews' Blog

Leave a Reply

