Trying To Write In Another Genre

A good friend of mine reminded me of something that happened a while ago.

He told me that life had given him some challenges currently and sometimes his head is full of thoughts about how to accomplish his tasks. At the moment he does have difficulties to write. He sits down, waiting for creativity to kick in and nothing happens.

Is this writer’s block? I don’t know, and since I’m not a too experienced writer, I would never presume to ‘diagnose’ such an excellent and gifted writer as he is. Much smarter heads and experienced writers have dealt with writer’s block before. I even published a post about it in February 2015 “Kiss Your Muse Hello.”

But what he said reminded me of something that happened a while back and made me laugh. And yes, I told him about it.

A while back when I realized my fantasy ran dry, I tried to tickle it by writing something I normally do not write.

As many of you know, I’m a writer of Paranormal Romance and Fantasy. But at this moment I decided, I would try to write a hot, steamy, and romantic, erotic scene. Occasionally I do read a sexy novel, and I was curious how I would do.

When I had finished the scene, I was quite proud of myself. I found it turned out to describe what I just saw going on in my head.

 

Picture courtesy of: http://www.pinterest.com

 

I set the few pages aside and went on to ‘daily business,’ whatever that was at this time.
I have to mention here: my idea did work. Writing in this unknown genre, in fact, awakened my ideas and fantasy, and I was able to continue with my new story.

I had nearly forgotten about my short trip into the erotic genre until I one day got the few papers in my hand while searching for some documents.

Sitting down and leaning back I re-read them…

… and started laughing so hard, I nearly choked. I screamed and howled with laughter. Earlier in this post, I said, after writing it, I was proud, I had considered I exactly described as the scene was in my head, right?

Re-reading these pages now showed me that I was completely wrong.

In my head, the scenery and what happened was perfect, yes. Including the smells, the sounds, the whispers… but on the paper, the entire erotic, sexy, steamy scene was about as erotic as the mating of gummy bears.

 

Picture courtesy of http://www.google.com

 

I figured, and I still do, that there must be a reason, why I picked ‘Paranormal Romance’ and ‘Fantasy’ my genres. Apparently ‘steamy hot’ is not for me to describe. I deeply admire every writer who can do it.

Now there are two questions at this point: Are the current stories I write that far off from my imagination as well? This would suck; even though my editor said no (which calms me a little bit).

And the second question: Have you ever tried to write in another genre, and how did this work for you? Thanks for sharing your experiences.

 

14 thoughts on “Trying To Write In Another Genre

  1. Hi Aurora, I’ve never suffered from ‘writers block’ per se, but – for a long time – my factual writing seemed more popular than my fiction. Luckily that seems to have righted itself, but I was a bit unsure when writing a steamy love scene in my first novel. Without being too revealing…my husband, sometimes, used to introduce humour into our more intimate moments, like (after 20 years): “What did you say your name is?” **or some such nonsense, and although it dilutes any passion, it always caused a giggle. ** In fact, I used it in my novel THE CATALYST: (Harvey) ‘Whatever the future holds, I want you to know that I’ll cherish this night forever,.’ seconds later, adding, ever the clown, ‘What did you say your name is?’ Helen pummelled him with a fist: ‘You wonderful bastard..’ she said, giggling.’ (the previous scene was quite hot…) I don”t enjoy gratuitous sex or violence. Less is more for me, but we’re all so different, aren”t we. And hurray for that! Take care. Joy xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for sharing your experiences.
      I think my trip into the erotic genre had taught me that this might not be my thing. Maybe, with a bit more ‘opening up’ it might be better.
      But hey… I had a really great laugh. 😀

      Like

  2. I started with action/adventure stories but my WIP is historical fiction. I love reading both genres but writing big thick novels is what I love best. Not sure how well I’d do with fantasy or paranormal so keep at whatever makes you comfortable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for your advice, Allan. I think you might be right. I’ll stick to Paranormal Romance and Fantasy. I think that steamy hot ‘something’ I thought I was writing, showed me that this wasn’t it. But I had laughing tears in my eyes. That’s a good thing though. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I started writing fantasy, but have written and published a historical novel. Believe me, it was HARD. All that research. I couldn’t make it up because someone out there would say, ‘No, it wasn’t like that at all.’ They probably still will, but I’ve done my best. I’m not an expert on Roman Britain. (Although much more so than I was before.)
    Because it’s a different genre, I published under a pseudonym, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know, Vivienne, I could imagine it’s pretty hard doing all that research. I know a few people who literally became experts in their topic, be it history, fashion, biology… whatever they wrote about. I could imagine, my genres are, in this point of view, the ‘easiest’ to write, even I have do some research on certain things.
      However… I would say, love scenes and erotic scenes should be the same, no matter in what century they are happening, right? And my love scene definitely was a complete failure. But at least it made me laugh. 😀

      Like

  4. Trying a different genre can be fun and quite the learning experience. You’ve read my stuff already, and it started out more as Paranormal/Horror with just a touch of Sci-Fi. Now the Sci-Fi is coming more into play and the works are becoming Paranormal/Sci-Fi. Our genres can evolve over time, so experimenting is actually a good training ground for your writing and imagination. More exercises could prove very useful down the road.

    Liked by 1 person

    • More exercise in writing erotic scenes you mean? Do you want to kill me, Allan? I’m very much convinced next time I’m going to die suffocating, because I’ll be laughing that hard. LOL
      I know that occasionally things can change… however, I’m still at the beginning… we will see how I develop. 🙂

      Like

  5. I do try to write other genres’ however, I don’t get very far writing outside of what I do best, Historical Fiction and Memoire. Whenever I challenge myself with something new, I always go full force and write like a maniacal ant herder; at least the first few chapters. I usually love what I have written, but, (isn’t there always a but?), somehow, I run out of speed and ideas. That’s when a potentially great story comes to a screeching halt and usually dies a painfully slow death, it’s legs up in the air and mouth gaping open waiting for me to rescue the plot with a few thousand more heroic words. They usually never come. That’s when I return to writing what I know best, and a little poetry now and then.

    I love to research as well. I’m pretty much a perfectionist, (I know, it drives me crazy also), and when I write anything historical, even fiction, I want the facts to be as close to authentic as I can write it. Thereby, two birds with one stone; I’m writing what I love and I’m learning what I didn’t learn in school while goofing off.

    I’m glad you stepped out of your comfort zone, A.J. it shows growth. You’re on your way to greatness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, Patty. I really appreciate it! (And: I love the way you made your comment so very colorful and vivid!!)
      Thanks for your compliment too! It made me blush. 🙂

      Like

  6. I’m so glad we writers can laugh at ourselves. Most times when we write a piece, and come back to it days later, we think, “wow, this is good.” But when we try new genres, or writing that is outside our ‘norm,’ we can have the opposite reaction once in awhile. Thanks for sharing this. – You’re great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

