Nobody Knows That I…

… am going out partying several times a month.

Several people who know me will now be flabbergasted, I’m sure. “But you’re such a calm, down-to-Earth, house-bound, slightly rounded person… how can that be?”

I’m telling you how:

  • Because I need ideas for my book characters? – Maybe!
  • Because I want to collect some experience for a new book plot? – Could be!
  • On a dare? – Possible!
  • Because I suffer from ‘Multiple Personality Disorder’? – Absolutely not!
  • None of the above? – EXACTLY!

How can that be that a house-bound writer in her… uhm… best years… is going out partying, and nobody ever talks?

Well, first of all, it would need an expert to recognize me. Different outfits, different hair, expert makeup… Makeup and Hairstylists are an inexhaustible source of knowledge! There are tips and tricks to show a person in a completely different light, and I learned from the best!

One night you’ll see a cool, elegant black-haired beauty in a dove gray cocktail dress, in high-heels, holding a clutch… another night you’ll find a hot brunette in a denim corsage, leather leggings, and over-knee boots, playing pool. One night you’ll watch a fiery redhead flirting at a club – and again, one night you might meet a sexy bombshell who dances a goose bump hot tango and sips Martinis… And you have no idea, that you didn’t meet four women… you just met the same woman four times.

To answer your never asked question: Yes, I’m sure I don’t have multiple personalities inside of me. I’m just doing this for the fun!

Of course, I won’t tell you about my hunting grounds, where’s the fun in that?

And: Just to make sure I’m clear: I’m dancing, and flirting, laughing, and having fun – I’m using different names, of course! My IDs? I know a guy, who knows a guy… you know how these things go… Beautiful names, exotic names, elegant names… Olivia de Jung, Denisonde van Cortlandt, Lilliane Stuyvesant, Angeline de Mondt… I am an author, after all, I’m quite practiced in creating a personal, a character… a persona.

I have outfits and wigs, makeup and accessories that would make any stage actor jealous… And still… despite the fun, despite the thrill… it’s never more than a game, a secret dream, a fleeting moment in my life… appreciate, stored, remembered, but not taking over, controlling, or steering my very self.

History of Wigs | LoveToKnow

Now, several times a month I prepare one of my secret outfits, get ready, put my wig and makeup on, dress up, and leave the house, to be picked up by a driver. Then my night starts with a cocktail, sometimes even dinner, a club, a bar, a pub, whatever I feel like.

You might ask: “Have you never been in trouble? Have you never faced a dangerous situation, going out by yourself, pretending to be someone else?”

And I will answer: “No, of course not! It’s very simple… I’m an author… and sometimes I dream away, like today, when I was debating what to write in my blog post.” And then I’ll laugh and crow: “Gotcha!” I’ll leave the secrets and the fake personas to someone else, and rather cuddle up at home with my kitty, reading or writing a good book. But let me tell you: I had tons of fun writing this!

What are you dreaming of sometimes? Do you have a secret wish you could theoretically turn into reality and don’t, because it’s completely against your nature? Tell us about it in the comments. We’re curious!