10 Ways To Personalize Your Query to Agents

Literary Agent Carly Watters gives us information about personalizing query letters. Thank you so much for your help and support Carly!

 

Featured Image -- 3304

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

Writers hear that they’re supposed to personalize their queries–but “how personal, exactly?” is the most common question. The best queries show that they have engaged with us before (on Twitter, read an interview, or a blog post of ours) and have done their research. It’s easier than you think to show that personal touch.

Below are TEN great query intro’s you can model yours after:

“You’ve mentioned on your blog an interest in XX and so BOOK TITLE HERE might be of special interest to you.”

“After reading (and loving) CLIENT BOOK TITLE HERE, I am submitting BOOK TITLE HERE for your review.”

“I noticed on Manuscript Wishlist you are looking for XX and XX so I’m submitting BOOK TITLE HERE.”

“I am seeking representation for my novel, BOOK TITLE HERE, a work of XX complete at XX-words. For readers of XX and CLIENT BOOK TITLE HERE.”

“I enjoyed your interview…

View original post 229 more words

“The Call” Reversed: What agents like to know about potential authors

Carly Watters, Literary Agent, has published an excellent blog post with title “The Call reversed – what agents like to know about potential authors”. I think this is a phenomenal article for all authors, not only new ones like me.

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

contract signingAuthors are usually busy studying up for “the call” (an agent reaching out via phone to offer representation) when they know it’s on the horizon. It’s an exciting time for authors and agents! Resources are everywhere and there are many great guides to “the call” including these:

However, what about the flip side? What do agents like to know about writers when we offer?

What agents like to know about potential fiction authors:

  • What are you working on next?
  • How long does it take you to write a draft?
  • Who are some of your favorite authors?
  • What kind of support are you…

View original post 314 more words