10 Ways To Personalize Your Query to Agents

Literary Agent Carly Watters gives us information about personalizing query letters. Thank you so much for your help and support Carly!

 

Featured Image -- 3304

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

Writers hear that they’re supposed to personalize their queries–but “how personal, exactly?” is the most common question. The best queries show that they have engaged with us before (on Twitter, read an interview, or a blog post of ours) and have done their research. It’s easier than you think to show that personal touch.

Below are TEN great query intro’s you can model yours after:

“You’ve mentioned on your blog an interest in XX and so BOOK TITLE HERE might be of special interest to you.”

“After reading (and loving) CLIENT BOOK TITLE HERE, I am submitting BOOK TITLE HERE for your review.”

“I noticed on Manuscript Wishlist you are looking for XX and XX so I’m submitting BOOK TITLE HERE.”

“I am seeking representation for my novel, BOOK TITLE HERE, a work of XX complete at XX-words. For readers of XX and CLIENT BOOK TITLE HERE.”

“I enjoyed your interview…

View original post 229 more words

Better Query Letters:

Kawanee Hamilton has the secret we’re all looking for right there on Kawanee’s Korner, her blog. Check for the five tips to write better query letters!

CRST240031_0_cartier_writing-instruments

This comes from Writer’s Circle and deals with writing Query letters to publishers. There’s some great advice on the page. I also have a book called: How to write attention grabbing query letters by John Wood. I enjoyed reading it very much, it was humorous and informative. So, if you get a chance and you’re having trouble with query letters check it out it.

I hope you find this as helpful as I did
~Kaw

Dear, Writer: Here Are 5 Tips To Writing Better Query Letters

So you’ve written your masterpiece: the great novel you know everyone should read. What now? Well, the answer is to try to get it published, of course. Whether you are trying to get an agent or you are contacting an editor at a publishing house directly, you will need to write up a query letter. Unfortunately, many great books may be rejected out of hand…

View original post 66 more words