A Distance So Far

Underneath the moon’s soft glow

I carefully let the longing flow.

Five hours of road stretch between,

Yet in my dreams, he’s often seen.

**

His laughter, like a distant song,

Not to hear his voice is simply wrong.

Oh, how I yearn to see his eyes

His smile and face, a great surprise!

**

With every passing mile, I ache,

Longing for the day we’ll make,

A memory together, hand in hand,

Walking along love’s golden strand.

**

In the quiet hours of the night,

I whisper to the stars so bright,

A wish to bridge this distance wide,

Something he so far has shied.

**

For though the road may seem too long,

We need to keep our bond quite strong.

So until we see things eye to eye

The longing often makes me cry.

**

But then, sometimes I get upset

Why is 5 hours such a sweat?

I wonder, what might be the fear,

Am I not worth a visit here?

*****

(Copyright Aurora Jean Alexander, May 2024)

Image courtesy of folkvangar.deviantart

3 thoughts on “A Distance So Far

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.