Give Your eBook as Much Love as Your Paperback

Jo Robinson from “Lit World Interviews” wrote an excellent article about e-book formatting on Createspace. Thank you so much Jo!



Lit World Interviews

WHEN formatting your paperback manuscript for CreateSpace you can get away with a fair amount of fancy formatting. Fancy fonts, dropcaps, inserted widgets, bullets, tables, and all sorts of other things can be used. Pretty much if it’s locked into your PDF it will appear in your book. If you can’t lock it into your PDF then it won’t appear in your paperback. A Kindle eBook on the other hand should be rather thought of as an HTML page – just like a web page. The same way that when you set up a post on your WordPress blog various HTML codes are used for different things, when your eBook gets translated into HTML for publishing it will take anything that would normally be written as code and try to use that, often with disastrous results – rather than the gorgeous bullet list or laboriously tabbed lists that took you…

View original post 764 more words


Oh yes, dear Followers! Halloween is not only the “contest deadline” but also the Release Date for Allan and Helen Krummenacker’s “The Vampyre Blogs – Coming Home”. You don’t want to miss that!

The Vampyre Blogs - Private Edition

“The Vampyre Blogs – Coming Home” will be arriving in exactly two weeks!


That’s right folks, Halloween will be arriving a couple of days early, so get ready to grab the next installment of the Para-Earth Series.  The novel will be available in all formats including Trade Paperback, Kindle, Nook, Apple, Sony and all other e-readers, as well as PDF for those who like reading books on their computers.

Within these pages you’ll meet a whole new breed of vampire who drinks blood, sleeps in the ground, avoids sunlight (because he’ll start to sparkle as in about to spontaneously combust), and cannot eat garlic.  Yet he’s also one of the best people you’d ever want have on your side in a bad situation, as any regular reader of this blog can tell you.

For those who haven’t met Nathan yet, here he is to say a few words:


View original post 350 more words

90 sites to advertise your book

James Calbraith has provided us with a blog post that contains links to 90 Sites to advertise our books. Thank you so much James! Your work and generosity is greatly appreciated!!

James Calbraith


As far as I’m aware, this is the most comprehensive list of book promo sites anywhere on the internet. The list was compiled from various online sources, most notably – Rachelle’s Window (go there and thank her!🙂 she also lists Alexa rankings for the sites) and my own research. As of updating this on April 17th 2016, all the links below are working. Note that I can’t guarantee that the sites themselves are still working, that the forms lead anywhere, or that you will actually get anything for your money.

Majority of these sites advertise books when they’re free, as part of KDP Select or Smashword promo. If you want to promote a paid book, you usually need to pay extra.

Don’t forget you can also promote your tweets and Facebook posts on Twitter and Facebook, though that is known to be not very effective unless you know…

View original post 605 more words

10 Ways To Personalize Your Query to Agents

Literary Agent Carly Watters gives us information about personalizing query letters. Thank you so much for your help and support Carly!


Featured Image -- 3304

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

Writers hear that they’re supposed to personalize their queries–but “how personal, exactly?” is the most common question. The best queries show that they have engaged with us before (on Twitter, read an interview, or a blog post of ours) and have done their research. It’s easier than you think to show that personal touch.

Below are TEN great query intro’s you can model yours after:

“You’ve mentioned on your blog an interest in XX and so BOOK TITLE HERE might be of special interest to you.”

“After reading (and loving) CLIENT BOOK TITLE HERE, I am submitting BOOK TITLE HERE for your review.”

“I noticed on Manuscript Wishlist you are looking for XX and XX so I’m submitting BOOK TITLE HERE.”

“I am seeking representation for my novel, BOOK TITLE HERE, a work of XX complete at XX-words. For readers of XX and CLIENT BOOK TITLE HERE.”

“I enjoyed your interview…

View original post 229 more words