When The Unexpected Becomes Reality IX

Two months later, I was working with Tez, a few of his friends, and a few of mine, busy moving the entire shop to the warehouse hall I owned. I had cleaned out and organized that hall, and Orson built me a divider wall between the warehouse in the back and the temporary store in the front.

Orson and his crew were the most fantastic troop; they were helpful, friendly, funny, and caring. They didn’t want me to do too much. And they didn’t care much about Tez’s alienated looks and behavior. To them, he was just a bit different, and they all considered themselves the ‘weirdos’ and, therefore, didn’t judge.

In the meantime, I could work myself through my grandmother’s Estate without bursting into tears. Tez was around me nearly all the time in a very protective manner… the tension between us intensified.

I had talked to Lachesis a few times, desperate to ask a question but fearing the answer. At the third call, she laughed. “Come on, Klotho. I know you. You want to ask me something particular, and I’m tired of waiting. What’s wrong?”

I sighed. “I’m scared,” I admitted. Lachesis replied softly: “Of course you are. If you weren’t, I would say you didn’t understand the responsibility of being you. But you’ll learn, girl. Every day, you are learning more and more. Are you going to tell me the problem now?”

After a moment, I finally replied: “I know someone ill. It seems the person doesn’t know it, and I know I’m not supposed to tell… but am I permitted to help?”

She asked carefully: “What kind of ‘help’ are we talking about? I mean, after the books we sent you and the instructions we gave you, it is absolutely clear that you’re not supposed to intrude into humans’ lives. If they have to go, they’ll have to go. Death is part of life, and we’re not to intrude! That is what you need to remember. Remember it at all times! Why do you think that old cabinet in the store is protecting that half-done knitting thing? The thread of life and existence is not bendable in whatever direction you want.”

I interrupted her lecture: “I know, Sister, I know! I didn’t plan to bend it or change it. I briefly considered giving that person a tad more time.”

Through the phone, I heard her scream! “Whhhhaaaaat?”

To be on the safe side, I hung up. I didn’t want her to travel through the phone line to catch me.

When I turned around, Tez stood in the door, leaning at the doorframe, idly smiling. “I take this was Lachesis?” I nodded. Tez laughed. “What did you tell her?” I shrugged. “Something that she definitely didn’t like to hear.”

Tez laughed again. “Getting Orson a bit more time?” I nodded unhappily, and then the tears came. Tez came over to me in several long strides to pull me into a bear hug. Caressing my hair, he whispered, “You’re a sweet, sweet person. But you know that Lachesis is right. I like him too. But you can’t get him more time. You can, however, create a little accident.”

I pulled my upper body away from him and stared up at him. “What good would that do?” Tez smiled sadly. “If we had to take him to the ED, they’ll discover something wrong. It might even be possible with human medicine to give him more time.”

I grimaced, which made him laugh. “What was that for?” I chuckled. “I remember that first doctor at the ED… the one you stared down before he darted out of the room.” Tez rubbed his chin. “Yeah… right. I remember.” He replied slowly. I took a deep breath. “That guy creeped me out.”

Tez shrugged. “That proves your instincts are intact and you’re listening to them. Keep that up, girl. It might save your life.”

I looked up again. “So he is a shapeshifter, too, then?” Tez nodded. “In a way, yes. However, while I’m a born one, he’s created. He was born human and created to become a shapeshifter. You could call the difference a ‘minor transformation variation.’

He is what we generally would call a ‘Wer’ animal—a human-animal transformer. While changed, their instincts and thinking remain mostly human. Mine don’t. Once switched, I’m purely animal… and sometimes, that’s not particularly beautiful nor easy.”

I frowned. “Ahem… you know I’m grateful for your presence, Tez. But if it’s hard for you… why are you here?” the man chuckled. “Apparently, you don’t know how many enemies you have. And also, because our connection goes far, far back.”

I frowned. “And that seems like your duty to care for me?” Tez smiled. “Not in that sense of way. “There is no duty. But we were a unity for a very, very long time.”

I sighed. “Why can’t I remember that anymore?” Tez laughed. “That only means Klotho’s personality in you hasn’t been fully awoken yet.”

“If Klotho’s personality in me keeps on sleeping like that, I’ll be as old as my grandmother once it awakes. And then it has another few years on Earth before Klotho dies and has to go through that process once again,” I replied sourly.

Tez grabbed my hair, bent my head back, and kissed my throat softly and with such sensitivity that my skin tickled.

Behind us, the door opened, and everybody’s attention turned to the newcomer. It was Lachesis marching into the warehouse, her face a mask of rage and worries. As soon as she spied me, she stomped across the ground, only briefly stopping in front of Orson and looking up at him. The huge man froze on the spot while she stared at him. Finally, she barked. “Go to the doctor, now. Something ain’t right. The last time I saw that in someone’s skin, the condition was serious.”

Then she trampled further in my direction.

I caught Orson’s eyes wide in shock, and I slowly nodded and mouthed. “Go to the hospital.” He nodded, mouthed back, “Thank you,” and disappeared…

Lachesis arrived, grabbed me by the neck, and dragged me through the door. While Tez made sure the rest of the moving crew would return to the store to load some more stuff, Lachesis stared at me before talking.

“That’s the guy you planned to bend the rules a little, right?” She hissed.

For a moment, I was confused. “What? What do you mean, bending the rules?” Lachesis yelled. “You want to give him more time, don’t you?” I sighed and admitted: “He has a wife and a small kid. They should have their Dad and husband a little longer.”

Lachesis sighed and let herself fall onto a chair. “Shit, girl. You can’t play with people’s lives like that. They have their own fate. You are not to play with it. Remember what happened last time? Since then, Apollo is after you… millennia, you’re paying now for one simple mistake, remember? Don’t challenge the Gods, girl. Not again.”

I looked down to the ground. “I know.” Lachesis sighed. “I can see Klotho’s personality hasn’t entirely manifested yet. There will be some more work to do. But I promise you’ll wake up one day, and she’s there. Then you will understand.” She came over and hugged me. “Until then, promise me, you won’t do anything illicit. If in doubt, call. – Get yourself a distraction, sister. The boy you hang out with is perfect for you. And it’s not like that would be the first time.”

She laughed, kissed my cheek, and walked out again. On her way to the hall door, she called over her shoulder, “I saw the paint, yellow, hm? I like it!” Then she was gone.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Picture courtesy of Getty Images

Please respect the writer’s copyright (Copyright: A. J. Alexander – April 2024)

Part 10

Part 9

Part 8

Part 7

Part 6

Part 5

Part 4

Part 3

Part 2

Part 1

2 thoughts on “When The Unexpected Becomes Reality IX

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.