When The Unexpected Becomes Reality VI

I blinked a few times, trying to remember how he jumped out the window, but I could not get a clear picture. It happened far too quickly for my eye to really see.

Confused, I shook my head. “He’s right,” I sighed. “It wouldn’t be right to go on with him.” I grabbed my phone. “Hey there, Can we meet somewhere today?” I texted. His answer came back pretty quickly. “Sure. I wanted to talk to you anyway.” I chuckled. He was always so serious and cryptic. But this time, I had a feeling that he wanted to make sure he would be the one breaking up with me instead of the other way around. ‘Why not give him that chance so he can leave in dignity?’ I thought. And typed: “IHOP, at 11.30 am?” He gave me the thumbs up. “So, that’s done,” I muttered, got up, and climbed into the shower to prepare for the day. If I only had known…

After showering, I typed a brief resignation letter for my employer. I also took a picture of it, saved it in the respective folder, and folded it neatly before stuffing it into an envelope, which I placed in my purse. Then, there was nothing to do, and I finally walked downstairs to face my parents and brothers.

My mother briefly looked at me and set a strong espresso before me. “Drink.” she briefly ordered. I drank it in two big swallows.

I needed to be distracted from all the information I got when facing her. It was overwhelming. I tried to sort through her life and secrets and discovered a lot she had never told a living soul about. She married my father because she sought protection, not out of love… that I was not the dream child she had planned since I was apparently conceived before she agreed to marry my father. She had an older sister who took her own life, an aunt who spent most of her life in jail, and a few more things she desperately tried to keep hidden. She was far smarter than everybody thought, but she was content with her family and duties despite being overwhelmed with the youngest two boys. Apparently, she wished sometimes she was only babysitting them and could return them at the end of the day. She had been grateful for my grandmother… but she was a strong woman, mastering everything she was burdened with.

My father’s information was more relaxed and calmer. He was a modest man, content he had found a woman to take care of him and his needs, which were as easy as his wishes. He was happy to spend most of his time alone, and surprisingly, he knew that I wasn’t his daughter, despite my mother never telling him. He loved the boys, but I was his favorite. He always loved his mother but suspected that there was more about her than what she’d ever let her family know.

The boy’s information was short and simple. They were all of mainly mediocre intelligence and not destined to accomplish grand things in life. At this time their interest circled around playing practical jokes, trying to get out of homework and hoping to take a few sick days off from school.

“Did your Grandmother leave you the store?” I nodded. “Yes. I will take over.” She smiled briefly. “That’s good.” and took a deep breath. I stared at her, and she explained. “Grandmother has always told us this shop was in the family for generations, and it seemed very important to her to leave it to you.”

I nodded. “I know. And she has left me numerous instructions. Also, I have friends of hers to support me. However, I need to renovate it. It has been the same way for decades and looks quite outdated.” My mother seemed to be startled. “Where does the money come from for this kind of construction?” I looked at her, surprised.

She chuckled. “Really, don’t you think I learned a thing or two while living under the same roof as my mother-in-law? She’s been a good teacher, and I liked her very much. You kids only might have seen our differences. But we also had peaceful, nice, and friendly times together. Not that often, but often enough for me to appreciate her knowledge, experience, and wonderful personality. She knew so much… like she held the thread of life in her hands.”

I stared at my mother but only saw the loving, caring, warmhearted Italian Mamma who gave the most comforting hugs on Earth. Her expression was mild and a bit worried. I got up and hugged her. “Thank you, Mom. I’m glad I have you.” Then I left the house.

My employer didn’t take it lightly that I decided to leave. “I’m so sad, Mia.” Monica from HR told me. “Please, if you ever want to return, let me know, ok?” I nodded. “Thank you very much, Monica.” We hugged briefly. And that touch made me flinch. The second she touched me, I knew she didn’t mean anything she said to me – ever. She couldn’t stand me; filled up with jealousy and her own feeling of importance, she radiated so much negativity that it made my skin crawl.

“Do you need to pick up something from the office upstairs?” I shook my head. “No. I don’t have anything personal up there.” She smiled so sweetly that it made me think of sugar and ice cream. I returned her smile. “It was great being part of this. I’m very proud to have belonged to this amazing team.” I smiled, only to see her face falter, and she barely kept her facade up. I turned around and walked toward the exit, my head held high, and I chuckled.

Then I drove over to IHOP. Their parking lot was nearly empty, and I saw that my soon-to-be Ex-boyfriend’s car was nowhere to be seen. I checked my watch to see it was exactly 11:30 am. But I knew he’d be late, so I grabbed my phone and searched online” for construction companies who were able, open, and willing to renovate my Grandmother’s store for a reasonable price.

I talked to two very nice company owners and left messages on the voicemails of two others. When I hung up, I saw J’s car entering the parking lot. I got out of my car at the same time that he did.

He looked at me. “Mia,” he said shortly. I nodded. “J. Good to see you.” He briefly kissed my cheek before we turned to the entrance door, which he opened for me. His other hand was carefully placed on my lower back as if he wanted to protect me. I had always appreciated these gestures, even though they were old-fashioned. But that day, I found it disturbing and smothering.

I didn’t move or act differently than I would have any other day. The host led us to a booth, and we both sat down. Our waitress approached us, and since we had eaten at IHOP numerous times during our relationship, we both knew what we wanted. She beamed, nodded, and turned from us to get our meals.

As soon as she was out of range, J. asked me: “How are you holding up, Darling?” I frowned at him. These kinds of nicknames were normally not his thing, but I politely replied. “I’m okay. Really. No need to worry.” He clapped his flat hand on the table and said, “But I want to worry! Don’t you get it?”

I stared at him. “What?”

The few people in the restaurant turned around, startled by the sudden noise.

I never had seen any impatience, nervousness, or anger in his behavior. This outburst came out of the blue. Finally, I replied. “Joseph, what’s wrong with you? I don’t know you being this unbalanced.”

His voice lowered the volume, and he bent over the table to take my hand. “Mia, my heart. I want to worry because you are the most important thing in my life. I want to worry, protect, be there for you, and always be with you.”

That was not what I had expected, and I sighed. “What are you talking about?”

He searched his jacket and finally unearthed a small blue jewelry box. I tried to sigh as unobtrusively as possible. “Please, J. Don’t do that!” I pleaded. At that moment, the waitress returned with our plates. She saw the jewelry box and smiled widely. “Oooohhh! What a wonderful, beautiful picture! I always wanted to see a prop….” I interrupted her sharply. “Don’t you dare! This is none of your business. I would recommend you leave the plates here, turn around and leave. And I’m only saying this once.”

Her face fell, but she did as she was told. And I turned back to Joseph. “J. Let’s eat before it gets cold. After this brunch, I will tell you what I have to say. Right now, I don’t have any head or heart for talking about a common future. Is that clear?” He nodded, a bit intimidated.

While we ate, we mainly talked about his job, his mother, and when his newly ordered car would arrive. After the meal, I asked for a box, as I always do, and watched him frown. However, he didn’t say anything, and I cleared my throat. “Joseph,” I said. He flinched. He didn’t like me calling him ‘Joseph’. He preferred J., but I couldn’t be considerate at that moment. I had to finish this to concentrate on the tasks and duties ahead of me.

“J. I will have to break up with you, I’m sorry. I won’t have time for you, taking over my Grandmother’s shop, with everything else on my plate, and I want to make this short. You’re a great guy, and I enjoyed the time with you. With all the changes in my life, there is no room for you anymore. Please forgive me. I know I’m being rude; I don’t like that at all. And I don’t like to hurt you either.”

Joseph sat across the table, looking like I had hit him with a baseball bat. “But… but…” he stammered. I smiled at him. “You’ll find another girl soon enough, J. Don’t worry!” I patted his hand, got up, grabbed my box, and left the restaurant.

I was crossing the parking lot to get to my car when I heard my name called from the back. Joseph hadn’t given up. With a sigh, I turned around, only to see my ex-boyfriend staring at me, with bloodred eyes in his hand, a green shimmering, wildly formed dagger that he threw at me.

Everything went so fast, despite me thinking of ducking, I was completely unable to move until a brick wall hit me, and I found myself kissing the asphalt, my nose bleeding, my hands burning like fire, and my hip protesting. I tried to look up, but when I heard a door going and footsteps, even voices, everything seemed to be far, far away.

Until I found myself pulled up and set onto my own feet, my bleeding nose covered with an old-fashioned white handkerchief and pressed to a rock-hard male chest. Tez’s voice sounded dampened when he said: “I can’t even let you out of sight for one minute without you getting into trouble.”

I looked up at him and replied angrily: “That’s as sure as hell not my fault. What was that, anyway?” Tez chuckled. “You tell me! I saw you guys having breakfast, which you should have had with me. Just saying.”

After a deep breath, I replied, “Who I saw was Joseph, my ex-boyfriend. But it looked like he wanted to throw a dagger at me, and I couldn’t believe that’s what I saw. Joseph has always been a balanced, well-controlled man, mild-mannered and caring.”

Tez laughed. “Joseph, it is, nowadays? Well… I know that creature differently.” My eyebrows narrowed. “What creature?” The man who held me up smiled. “This guy’s name for the past millennia has been Apollo.”

The shock must have been visible on my face. Tez hugged me, then again lifted me up in his arms and carried me over to a huge pickup truck. He stuffed me into the passenger seat and fastened my seatbelt.

“What are you doing?” I inquired. Tez laughed. “I’ll take you home. You’re shocked, injured, and shaken. I won’t let you drive like this. I wanted to protest, but his lips were on mine, and every word was silenced while I was melting within the kiss.

Tez smiled. “Don’t worry… things will work out. And for the moment, you got me.” He ran around the truck, climbed into the driver’s seat, and started the car.

My brain started to crumble, and all I could think at that moment was: “What a mess…”

TO BE CONTINUED…

(Photo by H. Armstrong Roberts/ClassicStock/Getty Images)

Please respect the writer’s copyright (Copyright: A. J. Alexander – April 2024)

Part 10

Part 9

Part 8

Part 7

Part 6

Part 5

Part 4

Part 3

Part 2

Part 1

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.