When The Unexpected Becomes Reality I

My name is Mia Alessandra DeLuca. (Don’t make any mistakes; the name is much grander than the name of the person behind it.) As the name says, I live in New Jersey, in the U.S., with my family, my mother, three brothers, my Dad, my Grandmother (my Dad’s Mom), and our living Zoo, with four dogs, three guinea pigs, two cats, and a parakeet.

Now, I’m the oldest of the DeLuca children, Giorgo is the youngest, and you’ll find Angelo and Roberto somewhere in between.

I had always found it hilarious that an Italian family, living in the U.S. for approximately 30 generations, keeps holding on to traditional Italian values, cooking, names, and language for dear life. I agree that traditions shouldn’t be forgotten, nor should excellent cooking or language be forgotten. You know, OK, keep them all. However, I turned out to be entirely American, and I still have problems becoming a Jersey Girl, even after living here for nearly five years.

Our family does everything together: going to the beach, eating authentic Italian pizza, cooking spaghetti, watching the youngest one play soccer, going to church… We love our ways, and we love each other. My Mom and Grandma are always there for me, no matter the problem.

When I was twenty and seven, my Grandma called me into her room. She very rarely grants anyone access to the ‘cathedral.’ We had a blast with this expression. If I remember correctly, the name ‘cathedral’ was coined by one of us kids when we were little. We discovered that Grandma had some kind of a ‘shrine’ created for our grandfather, her husband she lost unexpectedly after eight years of marriage, while she was expecting their fourth child.

She was heartbroken, but being an Italian woman—strong, independent, stubborn, and straightforward—she put her heels down and worked her way through raising her children, opening a Taylor shop that she later combined with the yarn, wool, and fabric store that had been in the family for generations.

She inherited ‘La Magia del Segreto’ when her mother passed away. She did so well that she could put two of her four children through college. Of course, back in her day, it was the two boys. The girls got married off as soon as they were of age, and then Grandma could concentrate on her life.

However, she still missed her husband, and to honor him, she had built a corner for him, with his pictures, little trinkets she connected with him, presents she got from him, manifested memories, and candles…

So, I followed her order to meet her in ‘the cathedral’ and politely knocked on the door. “Come in, Mia”. She called. I entered the room, and she told me to sit down. I took place on the small sofa and patiently waited while she seemed to read something out of a little booklet. Then she looked up, removed her reading glasses, and turned to me.

“Well, Mia. I would like to address a concern that makes it hard for me to sleep at night.” My face showed nothing but a mild curiosity, and I knew exactly what would follow next. And I was right.

“Mia, you are a pretty girl; I’m worried because you’re not married. You don’t even have a man by your side; you don’t plan on having a family and children. It is time you are looking around. You’re far over your expiration date.”

I laughed loudly. “Expiration date.” I giggled.

“Grandma… I have to disappoint you. I’m not as alone as you think. There is a man in my life.” She just wanted to say something when I held up my hand. “Don’t interrupt, please. I didn’t tell the family about him because I don’t like how you treated my last few boyfriends. They ran from me, literally after the first visit, trembling in fear, because you pressured them to propose. I’m done with that. It is my decision when and how, and if I get married, have children, or buy a new car, and that is that.”

My grandmother sighed. “I want you to be well cared for and happy before I die.” I grinned. “Look at you, Grandma. You’re a picture of health and the tree of life in our family. We got plenty of time.”

Grandma’s face paled in fright…

… Seeing my Grandmother falter made me jump up and run over to her. “Grandma! What is it?” She whispered dramatically, “You just jinxed it. My life is over.” I hid a smile. I knew how theatric my Grandma could be. I hugged her and assured her: “Don’t worry, Grandma. All is good. Nothing bad will happen.”

TO BE CONTINUED…

Picture courtesy of Gettyimages.com

Please respect the writer’s copyright (Copyright: A. J. Alexander – April 2024)

Part 10

Part 9

Part 8

Part 7

Part 6

Part 5

Part 4

Part 3

Part 2

Part 1