Interview With One Of My Characters III

Hello, 

Welcome to ‘Writer’s Treasure Chest’. It’s wonderful to have you here.

Thank you, Aurora Jean. I really appreciate the invitation.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself.

Of course. My name is Mairead McCarthy. I’m originally from Ireland. Currently I’m looking for Simin Arnatt. I have been searching nearly everywhere. But whenever I seem to get closer, she disappears.

I know Simin. Is it important that you’ll find her?

Yes, very much so. I do have an order for her. From what I hear she’s the best in her job.

Oh, she definitely is. But can you tell us what you need her for?

Uhm. I’m not sure I should. Not as publicly as here. However, I need to find her. Can you help me?

Sure. I will give you the phone number of her agency after the interview.

Oh, This is amazing. Thank you.

But, please, tell us more about you. Who are you and what is your occupation?

Oh… I told you, I’m originally from Ireland. I love it there. My home is magical in many ways. As for what I do: I’m a jewelry designer.

I see. And that’s all you do? I mean, you don’t hide anything from us? 

(laughs musically). Of course I’m hiding something from you, what do you think? But don’t expect me to blurt it out here in public, I doubt that would be very smart. In particular not, since I need Simin’s help.

Of course. By the way: I’m very intrigued by your name. Does it have a meaning?

Yes. Mairead is the Irish version of Margareth and means ‘pearl’.

Hence, the jewelry designer.

Well, I figured I wanted something to do that fits me. Designing is a passion of mine. For quite a while I used to make my own clothes. But then: everyone is a fashion designer, obviously, even if they haven’t studied design or gotten the right education. You simply have to be some TV starlet and you’re an ‘expert’. That’s mainly why I decided to do something a bit different.

I studied gemology and mineralogy and closed with a degree in design.

Do you design for big houses, like ‘Cartier’ for example? 

No, sorry. I run my own business and it’s quite successful. It’s tiny but exclusive and I’m making quite a good living.

This is wonderful to hear. I am as well fascinated by your look. The strawberry blonde hair and the green eyes. 

It’s genetic. My mother looks just like me and so do my baby-sisters.

I’m sorry for interrupting. But I’m a bit eager to get Simin on the phone. Can we end this? It’s wonderful that I can be here. But I’m a bit impatient. I was looking for her for quite some time now.

I understand. But may I ask you something before we quit?

Sure, go ahead. What do you want to know?

Are you a creature of light or darkness, normal or supernatural, with or without wings and are you single?

(laughs) I’m definitely a supernatural creature of light. As for the wings: occasionally I have them. As for my marital status: I wonder why you want to know that, but let’s say: being one of ‘us’ means it is quite difficult to be in a relationship. Does that help?

Yes, it does. Thank you very much.

It was my pleasure. Thank you for having me.


Picture courtesy of http://www.google.com