What Not To Do With My Name

Today I was asked: Do you prefer to be called Aurora or Jean or both? It wasn’t the first time I heard this question, but it made me chuckle since it gave me the idea to this blog post.

My full name is Aurora Jean Alexander. From what I was told, since there is no hyphen between the two first names I cannot ‘demand’ to be called Aurora Jean. This is no tragedy since I prefer ‘AJ’.

Do I mind being called ‘Aurora’? No, of course not! Many do that. Do I mind being called ‘Jean’? Yes. Unfortunately it does remind me of denim and I don’t feel like turning around hearing someone yell “Jeeeeeaaaan” after me like I’d be a wet pair of pants.

But let’s start at the beginning: the origins of my names:

The origin of Aurora is Latin. The name means ‘dawn’. (which reminds me: Isn’t ‘Dawn’ a female name as well?  I admit: I don’t think I’m a ‘Dawn’. But never mind that now.)

The origin of Jean is Hebrew and means “gift from God”  (Or it’s related to the Scottish name Jane, it depends on which page you’re looking for.)

I like the origin of Aurora and I like the sound of Aurora Jean together. But what I still like most is AJ. – So, call me Aurora, Aurora Jean or AJ, they’re all good.

Just promise me: never ever call me “my little sunrise”, as a buddy of mine did – before he didn’t talk anymore for quite some time. His jaw surgery went well and he carefully started eating oatmeal last week. (LOL – Just kidding!)

Enjoy dawn…

Picture courtesy of http://www.amazingsky.net