A Loyal Friend – A Riddle


As a baby I’m so cute

I don’t come with a button that says ‘mute’.

I’ve got four legs, no wings, no beak

And when I’m a baby I still ‘leak’.

**

As most of us, we got a tail

We can whine and growl and also wail.

No matter how we look, we all are stark

We can roll over, give paws and also bark.

**

We can have mix or pure in our blood

We can be high class elite, or simply ‘mud’

We can be the size of a tree or a tiny sprig

or by all means, a pony, or a guinea pig.

**

When we’re little our owners are often dizzy

They’re on their toes, we keep them busy.

When we grow up, the stress will end

And we’ll become a ‘man’s best friend’.

**

We can protect, support, or we can ‘stop’

we work in avalanche, in narcotics or become a cop.

We’re your true jack-of-all-trades

Even though we never got grades.

**

Maybe you have one of us in your home

Let them sleep in your bed and freely roam.

I’m sure my secret’s not anymore ‘in the fog’

You already guessed – I am a dog!

*****

(Copyright Aurora Jean Alexander – October 2020)

Picture courtesy of Pinterest.com